Home

DUI misdemeanor

When is a DUI a Misdemeanor? - FindLa

In the context of an impaired driving offense, a misdemeanor DUI is typically charged for a first-time DUI offense without any aggravating circumstances such as having a minor child in the car, injuring or killing another person, or having prior DUI convictions. Most people who are arrested and charged face misdemeanor DUI allegations DUI, or driving while under the influence, is a misdemeanor in all 50 states if it is the defendant's first offense. Most states also consider a second—or even a third—DUI to be a misdemeanor, provided a certain amount of time, generally seven to 10 years, has passed between offenses. What Is a Misdemeanor With few exceptions, misdemeanor DUI charges are usually charged under VC 23152 and felony DUI charges are usually charged under VC 23153. This article is a summary of the law, punishments, and the defenses related to misdemeanor DUI Charges (VC 23152). For information on felony DUI charges, please see Felony DUI

A first-time offense of DUI is classified as a Class A misdemeanor, with the driver's driving privileges revoked for a minimum of one year for drivers who are over the legal drinking age and up to two years for drivers under 21 Stage 1 in The Misdemeanor DUI Court Process Is Arraignment The first court appearance for your DUI is the arraignmen t. Formally, an arraignment is where the charges against you are read in open court and then you are asked to enter a plea. Do You Plead Guilty or Not Guilty At Arraignment A misdemeanor DUI conviction can still mean jail time, loss of driver's license, mandatory DUI classes, and heavy court fines Under most circumstances, a first-time conviction for driving under the influence is a misdemeanor, but there are circumstances under which a DUI can be a charged as a felony crime. These circumstances vary by state and jurisdiction In some misdemeanor DUI cases penalties can be increased if: the driver refused to take a chemical test, the driver's blood alcohol level was over .15%, a passenger was under 14 years of age, the vehicle was being driven 30 MPH or more over the speed limit on a freeway (20 MPH on streets or highways)..

1st Offense DUI Misdemeanor In California. A driving under the influence, or DUI arrest is something that you should take seriously. However, if this is your first DUI misdemeanor in California, your penalties will likely be significantly less serious than a felony.Sometimes, being arrested two or even three times can still result in a misdemeanor charge A misdemeanor DUI is more likely to result in a jail term of up to one year and a punitive fine. You have the right to a trial if you are facing misdemeanor charges. Most impaired driving charges involving speeding, reckless driving, and driving without a license are misdemeanors, thoug Wondering the answer to Is a DUI a misdemeanor or felony? If you're arrested for drinking and driving, you must understand the ramifications. Whether your DUI is considered an infraction, misdemeanor, or felony depends on where you live and your legal history A misdemeanor is a criminal offense that is less severe than a felony. Many DUIs are classed as misdemeanors in California. In California, DUI is more than a simple traffic violation. It can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. These refer to different categories of criminal offenses DUI Misdemeanors in Florida Under Florida law, driving under the influence occurs when a person is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle and: The person is under the influence of alcohol or illicit drugs, and their ability to drive the car is impaired; The person has a blood-alcohol level of.08% or higher, o

Is a DUI a Misdemeanor? Attorneys

In many states, a first-time DUI is a misdemeanor offense. In Washington state, misdemeanor crimes come with a maximum jail sentence of 90 days as well as a maximum fine of $1,000. Washington State is Different Unlike many states, Washington state does not have a misdemeanor DUI charge When is a DUI a Misdemeanor in Michigan? In Michigan, the first two convictions an alcohol and/or drug related driving offense are misdemeanors. The exceptions to that general rule involves a second offense of Child Endangerment ( MCL 257.625(7) ) within seven years of the first conviction and OWI/OWVI Death/Injury ( MCL 257.625(4) and (5) ) Most driving under the influence charges in the State of Washington are misdemeanor charges that do not involve accidents or injuries. But even for a misdemeanor first-offense DUI conviction, you could be sent to jail for up to a year and fined up to $5,000 Is a DUI a Felony, or a Misdemeanor? Driving under the influence is taken seriously by states, but there are key differences in the way some states handle the offense. Currently, forty-six states have felony DUI laws on the books, and four do not. Maryland, Maine, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania do not have felony DUI laws, and neither does the.

DUI Misdemeanor VC 23152(a) & VC 23152(b) Defense

When DUIs are misdemeanors In general, a first-offense DUI in Pennsylvania is a misdemeanor, but the penalties will vary based on your BAC level. As previously described, misdemeanor DUI convictions in Pennsylvania may carry jail time, fines, probation, and other penalties Generally, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) is a misdemeanor in case of a first-time conviction. But the DUI jurisdiction may vary from one state to another. DUI can be charged as a felony crime especially in case of repetitive offenses of driving under influence The punishment for misdemeanor DUI depends on a number of factors, including: whether your case is filed in municipal court or state court; your criminal record, if any, outside the existing DUI charge, and your conduct during the DUI arrest. Misdemeanor DUI offenses carry up to a $1,000 fine and jail time of at least ten days and a maximum of. If you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Southern California and have never been convicted of a DUI in the past, you will likely be charged with a misdemeanor DUI. In most cases, a second or third DUI arrest will also be charged as a misdemeanor

Misdemeanor DUI Chicago Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

For a free legal consultation with a misdemeanor dui lawyer serving St. Petersburg, call 941-444-4444. The Law on DUI in St. Petersburg, FL. If you are facing a first-time DUI charge in which there are no other factors that would make it a 'special case,' such as serious bodily injury, then the chances are that you will be given a misdemeanor While most DUI charges will be a misdemeanor, if there was an injury or death to someone other than the driver, your charges can be upgraded to a DUI Felony - DUI Assault by Vehicle. The three tiers are based on the following BAC levels:.08 -.099% BAC, which is considered general impairment.1 -.159% BAC, which is considered a high BA

Misdemeanor DUI Crimes. Under § 21-902 of the Maryland Transportation Code, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of or impaired by alcohol, alcohol per se (BAC 0.08 and above), drug (s) or any combination of alcohol and drugs. Under § 27-101, a violation of this law is a misdemeanor and carries a maximum one year imprisonment and. Under the new DUI law minors, commercial drivers, school vehicle or bus drivers, and offenders involved in an accident that injures someone or causes property damage may be subject to the high BAC penalties even if their BAC is not in the high category. Offenders who refuse breath or chemical testing may be subject to the highest BAC penalties Attorneys and judges interviewed for this story said a misdemeanor DUI case similar to Mohler's, in which the defendant pleads not guilty, is usually resolved in one to two years Misdemeanor DUI in Ohio. If you are arrested for drunk driving, the judge may charge you with a misdemeanor DUI if you have two or fewer DUI convictions in the last ten years. The judge could also charge you with misdemeanor DUI if you have had four or fewer DUI convictions in the past 20 years Misdemeanor DUI. Under the state's DUI laws, a misdemeanor DUI means a person is suspected of driving with a blood-alcohol concentration of at least 0.08 percent. In most cases, a DUI will be charged as a misdemeanor in Pennsylvania, and the penalties may include jail time, fines, probation, and other penalties

The 3 Stages Of A Misdemeanor DUI Court Process [Step-by

VENTURA, CA - During a pretrial conference in Ventura County Superior Court Department 10 last week, Judge Julia M. Snyder refused to grant a judicial diversion for a man charged with driving without privileges after a DUI conviction. Judicial diversion is intended to help defendants avoid jail. In most states, a first-offense DUI or DWI is classified as a misdemeanor and punishable by no more than six months or a year in jail. However, in a few states, the maximum jail time for a first DUI is even shorter. For example, the maximum jail time for a first DWI in New Jersey is 30 days

Jimmy Uso Currently Out Of Action With Knee Injury

Any DUI convictions or diversions since July 1, 2001, will be considered and used to enhance a sentence if there is a subsequent conviction. If convicted of a first-time DUI, your offense will be a class B misdemeanor. A second DUI conviction will result in a class A misdemeanor Under the Illinois DUI law (625 ILCS 5/11-501), a DUI can either be a misdemeanor or a felony. Whether a DUI is classified as a misdemeanor or a felony depends on several factors, including whether or not the arrest is a first or second offense, or if there is an accident with serious injuries sustained, especially by a child who was being.

Super Extreme Misdemeanor DUI 1st Offense. Minimum Penalties. 45 days jail (but 31 days may be suspended if ignition interlock is installed on vehicle for 12 months) $3,218 fines and assessments. $ 3,150 jail fees ($70 per day) Alcohol and drug evaluation & counseling ($50 evaluation plus counseling fees) MADD Victim Impact Panel While driving under the influence (DUI) in South Carolina is a serious offense; there are those people who assume that a DUI conviction equals a felony on their record. But, this may not always be the case. In this article we answer the long running question of what qualifies as a DUI felony versus a DUI misdemeanor Arizona DUI Laws. Pursuant to current Arizona DUI laws (A.R.S. § 28-1381), it is a misdemeanor DUI for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle under any of the following circumstances:While under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance or any combination if the person is impaired to the slightest degree; o (5) Except as provided in subsection (6) of this section, a violation of this section is a gross misdemeanor. (6) It is a class B felony punishable under chapter 9.94A RCW, or chapter 13.40 RCW if the person is a juvenile, if In Maryland, a DUI is a misdemeanor charge. While misdemeanor charges are seen as less serious, there are still severe consequences associated with a DUI charge. This is especially true if: Have more than one DUI charge in the last 10 years. You had a breath alcohol content (BAC) of .20% or over. You had a juvenile aged 14 or younger in the car

Is a DUI a Misdemeanor? - DrunkDrivingDefense

  1. A misdemeanor charge of driving under the influence (DUI) in California must be commenced within one year of the date it occurred.A felony DUI charge must be commenced within three years of the date it occurred.. Commenced for statute of limitations purposes means when one of the following events takes place:. an indictment or information is filed in felony cases
  2. DUI Crash Involving Property Damage or Personal Injury . Any person who causes property damage or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is guilty of a first degree misdemeanor (not more than $1,000 fine or one-year imprisonment)
  3. al offense misdemeanor. It depends on whether it is an ungraded misdemeanor or a misdemeanor in the first degree. If it becomes an ungraded misdemeanor, which carries up to six months in jail, if it's a first DUI or a second DUI in the first or second tier
  4. al liability. While a second DUI conviction within seven years is still a misdemeanor, you can expect to face much harsher penalties, including a longer mandatory jail sentence.. You potentially face a
  5. al convictions are treated the same. A misdemeanor conviction is generally considered a
  6. Misdemeanor DUI. Most of the drunk-driving arrests in California result in misdemeanor charges, a crime that is more serious than typical traffic infractions. If convicted, this crime is more likely to put you behind bars for at least one year besides a punitive fine. Misdemeanor DUI offenders have the right to a trial
  7. Phoenix, AZ Misdemeanor DUI Penalties. Lawrence represents very high-profile clients who greatly depend on a good outcome, and this guy will deliver. This is a prosecutor's worst nightmare, and it should be that way if you need an attorney. For more information, call our office at (602)-494-3444 or visit our contact page

Is a DUI a Felony or Misdemeanor? - Verywell Min

  1. If the DUI program refers the offender to an authorized substance abuse treatment provider for substance abuse treatment, in addition to any sentence or fine imposed under this section, completion of all such education, evaluation, and treatment is a condition of reporting probation. commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as.
  2. Misdemeanor DUI vs. Felony DUI in Florida. Most crimes in Florida can easily be described as either a first- or second-degree misdemeanor or a first-, second-, or third-degree felony. Each category has a maximum sentence that applies to all charges assigned to that classification. For example, a typical second-degree misdemeanor is punishable.
  3. ed. Misdemeanor DUIs are deemed to be significant misdemeanors under the terms of the Act. This means that a single conviction for misdemeanor DUI could result in a denial of relief under DACA. A felony DUI conviction is automatically a reason for denial under the Act's felony.
  4. (2) Every person convicted of violating this subsection shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for the first and second convictions and upon a third or subsequent conviction thereof be guilty of a high and aggravated misdemeanor and shall be punished and fined as provided in subsection (c) of this Code section, provided that any term of imprisonment.
  5. In Florida, you can still buy guns and ammunition with a misdemeanor DUI but if you are on probation from a DUI offense, you cannot. In Illinois, if you have two or more DUIs, you cannot obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon. If you are convicted of a felony, you cannot own guns or ammunition

In line with attorneys and judges interviewed for this story, a misdemeanor DUI case just like Mohler's by which the defendant pleads not responsible is often resolved in a single to 2 years. Although nobody questions that 5 years is a very long time for a DUI case to linger, authorized consultants disagree in regards to the underlying. Generally, a first DUI conviction in California is a misdemeanor. Convicted motorists face $390 to $1,000 in fines plus penalty assessments that can reach several thousand dollars or more. (Get a better idea of how much a first DUI will cost you .) And a judge can sentence a first offender to serve two days to six months in jail (though no jail. What Is a Misdemeanor? In the majority of states, a misdemeanor is defined as a type of criminal offense for which a person who is convicted may receive a small criminal fine for, up to twelve months of imprisonment (i.e., one year maximum sentence), or both as punishment.. Misdemeanor charges are usually more serious than receiving a citation or infraction, but are less serious than being. A gross misdemeanor is a crime committed that is greater or more serious than a regular misdemeanor, but is still considered a minor crime, and receives less punishment than a serious crime would. Crimes that might be looped into the gross misdemeanor category include: Petty theft. Simple assault. Lewdness A DUI lawyer may be able to keep it off your record in the first place, as s/he may be able to get the charge dropped, have it downgraded to a lesser offense, or even outright win your case. In any of those circumstances, you'll never have to explain a DUI to a potential employer

According to Emilio De Simone, at DUI Law Firm Denver if it's a first, second, or third DUI, and no one was hurt or died in an accident, the DUI will likely be charged as a misdemeanor.. Despite this lesser charge, any DUI is extremely serious and carries with it a host of negative and life-altering consequences Class A Misdemeanors are the most serious misdemeanors, and the penalties reflect that. Just because a crime is not considered a felony does not mean there are not serious consequences. Some crimes that are classified as Class A Misdemeanors will include penalties beyond jail time and a fine. For example, a defendant convicted of a DUI will. Can You Go to Canada with a DUI? Unfortunately, getting into Canada with a DUI is not as simple as showing up at the border with a valid United States passport. If you have ever been arrested or convicted for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, regardless of whether it was a misdemeanor or felony offense, you may be criminally inadmissible to Canada and denied entry A misdemeanor crime of DUI results in a license that is suspended, or revoked license when a felony. Revoked means that your name is removed from Georgia DMV records, and (once eligible many years later) you must restart the full process of applying to drive in Georgia again Client, a veteran DUI police officer, has his charges dropped due to insufficient evidence. 2nd Offense DUI/OVI Acquitted. Client acquitted of 2nd offense DUI / OVI. Represented by Attorney Steve Fox. OSU Student Pleads Minor Misdemeanor. OSU Student, charged with OVI, pleads to a minor misdemeanor and pays only a $75 fine. Charges Dismisse

Consequences for Misdemeanor DUI in California Most California DUI arrests are charged as misdemeanors. If there are no aggravated circumstances, such as an extremely high blood alcohol content (BAC) level, bodily injury, or fatalities, a first, second or third DUI within a ten-year period is usually classified as a misdemeanor. Aggravated. C misdemeanor DUI, basically meaning you operated while intoxicated. There is no endangerment, endangerment really means bad driving here in Indiana. Or you could be totally sober but your blood alcohol content is .08 or up to .14 and C misdemeanor's maximum time in jail, 60 days maximum fine is $500 Misdemeanors can be sealed or removed from your record through an expungement. This legal process can vary from state to state, and may only cover specific categories of crimes. Requirements are set by the state and you will need to hire a lawyer to start the expungement process Working With A Misdemeanor DUI Defense Lawyer There's no problem hanging out with friends, but a night of celebration can easily turn into a criminal inebriation if you're not careful. Driving under the influence can have serious consequences and you shouldn't take it lightly, especially because the police won't either. And, just in case you've [ You asked about Connecticut laws on driving under the influence (DUI) and related offenses. This report updates OLR Report 2011-R- 0319.. SUMMARY. Connecticut ' s DUI law consists primarily of two statutes, CGS §§ 14-227a and -227b.The first prohibits a person from driving (1) while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or (2) with an elevated blood alcohol content (BAC)

When Is DUI A Misdemeanor In California

Aggravated misdemeanor (also known as a gross misdemeanor) is punishable by up to a 364 day jail sentence and up to $1,000 or more in fines. Common aggravated misdemeanors include spousal battery, DUI and grand theft. Typically the punishment is specified in the law defining the crime. For any misdemeanor crimes that do not state the. A DUI is a Class C misdemeanor, meaning the judge cannot sentence you to any jail time if you are convicted. The greatest possible fine is $500. However, there could be a driver's license suspension

1st Offense DUI Misdemeanor in CA Law Offices of Randy

The Difference Between a Felony and Misdemeanor DU

  1. A Misdemeanor DUI charge in Arizona carries penalties like fines and jail time. Although these penalties are not as severe as in the case of an Aggravated DUI or Felony DUI, they need to be taken very seriously. Misdemeanor charges in Arizona can fall under any of these four categories: First DUI Offense. Second DUI Offense
  2. Depending on the state's law, an officer can use common sense and reasonable inferences to find probable cause that a misdemeanor has occurred. For example, suppose an officer doesn't witness a DUI accident, but arrives on the scene and sees a person sitting in the driver's seat taking off his seat belt
  3. Yes, misdemeanor expungement available after five years waiting period, felony after 8-10 year waiting period. Possible, only available for drunk in public conviction, first-time DUI or deferred entry of judgment. Yes, first-time DUI can be expunged 5 years after the diversion, sentence or probation was completed
  4. al record

Misdemeanor vs. Felony DUI. Whether your drunk driving offense is classified as a misdemeanor or felony largely depends on your state's laws, which generally are based on the severity of the situation. Misdemeanor Convictions. While drunk driving is never safe, most misdemeanor convictions are considered basic DUI offenses MISDEMEANOR DUI FIRST CONVICTION FIRST CONVICTION BAC .16 or higher 1 The DUI Statutory is intended to give an overview of penalties required by Driving Under the Influence Offenses, Utah Code Title 41, Chapter 6a, Part 5. It is a reference and overview for ease of use and greater transparency t

For misdemeanor DUI violations, the defendant is likely to face a maximum of 12 months in jail and up to $1,000 fines. But felony DUI convictions can result in one year or more in jail and thousands of dollars in fines. Also, the license suspension period for a felony DUI conviction is longer than for a misdemeanor DUI conviction With towing, bail, attorney, high risk insurance, court costs, school, and reinstatement fees, your first offense average costs could add up to $4,900. Ignition Interlock Device installed at your expense. Minimum first year costs could exceed $1,000.00. If two (2) convictions of DUI in 5 years, Ignition Interlock Device required for 6 months. In Idaho, a first-time conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) is generally a misdemeanor. Convicted motorists face a fine, license suspension, and possible jail time. However, the circumstances surrounding the DUI can greatly affect the outcome. The following are possible outcomes and penalties resulting from a first-offense DUI in Idaho Differences in Penalties for Misdemeanor and Felony OWI/DUI. The differences in penalties for misdemeanor charges and felony charges are rather pronounced. For instance, with a third offense misdemeanor OWI, a driver faces up to a year of incarceration, fines of up to $2,000, and driver's license revocation for up to three years

DUI Charges: Is a DUI a Misdemeanor or Felony? - Draeger

Second DUI arrests in Illinois are considered Class A misdemeanors, just like first-time arrests. However, the penalties for a second DUI are more severe than first-time offenders. You may receive either a mandatory sentence of 5 days in jail or have to perform 240 hours of community service, and may even have a sentence of up to 1 year in jail 1st degree misdemeanor charge. Automatic suspension of 18 months. 1 to 5 years in prison. Fine ranging $2,500 to $10,000. Alcohol and drug treatment. Ignition Interlock system for 1 year. Pennsylvania Zero Tolerance Law. Those convicted of a DUI under the age of 21 years old will: Have their license will be suspended for 1 year DUI Misdemeanor Laws * A DUI with no aggravating factors is a Class 1 Misdemeanor as cited in part under A.R.S. 28-1381. A Misdemeanor DUI will be escalated to a felony DUI if aggravated by several factors including the existence of a prior DUI conviction, driving on a suspended or revoked driver's license, DUI with a child under age 15 in. Misdemeanor DUI Litigation Expertise. These arguments are about statistics, chemistry, and biology. You need an attorney who not only knows the law, but also knows the science. Let Boeheim Freeman Law's expertise and training in science go to work for you challenging the officer's use of an SFTS, DRE, or Breath and Blood Testing However, the BAC level for a DWAI is lower than the Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)charge. Any driver with a BAC of 0.05% to 0.07% is considered legally impaired, and can be charged with a DWAI. In NY State, a DWAI will never be expunged or sealed. It is a traffic offense that is permanent

A misdemeanor DUI and employment can be compatible, and jobs for DUI offenders come in all fields. In fact, many employers will overlook your drunken driving record if you're honest and show you've changed. Getting a job with a DUI requires a proactive approach and an understanding of how to handle the issue Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), is dangerous and a leading cause of injuries and accidents on the road. DUI is also called driving while intoxicated, or DWI and both can be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the circumstances.. A DUI of any kind can significantly affect your insurance rates, driver points, and the status of your driver's license The maximums and minimums for Class A, B, and C misdemeanors are different in every state. However, Class A misdemeanors receive the highest sentence, generally up to one year in county jail. Class B misdemeanors are punished between 90-180 days in county jail. Class C misdemeanors receive the least amount of time, usually 30 days or less Misdemeanor DWI. In New Jersey, a disorderly persons offense is a misdemeanor-type infraction, permitting a sentence of up to six months in county jail, in addition to other fines and penalties. Incarceration periods for DWI/DUI convictions are as follows: Second offense — 48 hours to 90 days. Third and subsequent offenses — 180 days Injuries: A DUI causing non-serious injury is a first-degree misdemeanor, but drunk driving accidents are still serious matters. If the accident victim's condition worsens, you could be facing felony charges. The best way to protect your interests is to seek a lawyer's counsel before taking action. Contact a Daytona Beach Misdemeanor DUI Lawye

Misdemeanor DUI Definition under California State La

The level of your DUI charges (misdemeanor or felony) will determine what type of trial you are initially assigned. If you are charged with a misdemeanor DUI in Indiana, your case will automatically be set for a Bench Trial. If you are charged with a felony DUI in Indiana, your case will be set for a Jury Trial First and second DUI offenses are typically charged as a misdemeanor DUI in Florida. Penalties for a misdemeanor DUI can vary based on the result of your blood alcohol content (BAC) test. If your BAC was between .08 and .14, you could be fined up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, a maximum one-year license suspension, probation community service and attendance at a DUI school In Minnesota, DWIs can range from misdemeanors to felonies depending on the facts of the offense and the offender's prior record. Here is some information about the ranges of DUI charges. What is a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony? Minnesota has three classes of crimes: misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, and felony § 18.2-270. Penalty for driving while intoxicated; subsequent offense; prior conviction. A. Except as otherwise provided herein, any person violating any provision of § 18.2-266 shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor with a mandatory minimum fine of $250. If the person's blood alcohol level as indicated by the chemical test administered as provided in this article or by any other.

Is DUI a Felony or Misdemeanor in Florida? Traffic Law

Rodney King Beating Cop, Stacey Koon, Officially ChargedWhat To Expect - Tahoe Justice CourtHelena woman accused of 9th DUI | News | helenairPooch Hall Charged With Child Abuse, DUI - San Francisco NewsMom Arrested For Stuffing Toddlers In Trunk Of Friend’s

DUI Misdemeanor. DUI is a term that most states adopt as the offense of said nature, whereas a handful of other states reserve the right to term the crime OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) or DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) instead of DUI A: A DUI can be filed as a misdemeanor or felony. A: 1st offense is a misdemeanor, subsequent offenses are felonies. It can also be filed as a felony if your blood alcohol was .15 or over. DUI's can have a very big negative impact and be very expensive if not handled correctly. Hire a good attorney to navigate the process Most Pennsylvania DUI arrests result in misdemeanor charges, but cases involving serious injury or death will likely bring felony charges. A Pennsylvania DUI lawyer from Zachary B. Cooper, Attorney at Law, P.C. is ready to review your felony or misdemeanor driving under the influence charge and will endeavor to develop a strong defense strategy to help you Misdemeanor DUI. Just before 2 a.m. Wednesday, an officer stopped a vehicle for a stop sign violation in the 400 block of South Excelsior Avenue. While investigating, it was determined that the.